Marines Heritage Walk
Visiting Whareroa Farm? Consider doing the Marines’ Heritage Walk which highlights relics from the World War II occupation of nearly 5,000 U.S. Marines encamped on the former Camp Mackay.
The walk, opened on May 30 2016, is designed for a variety of visitors from heritage seekers to people who just stumble across it while out walking, cycling or picnicking.
Using existing farm tracks, the 50-minute walk starts in the Whareroa Farm kiosk with an introductory storyboard. From there, visitors can navigate seven sites each of them bringing the story of the old Marines’camp to life.
Each site features an attractive story board with maps, photographs and text explaining different features of the camp including: the old water system and reservoir, the sewage system, the site of the old recreation hall and of the old Mackay’s Woolshed used as a Post Exchange and store for the camp.
The 1942-style typography used in the signs has been developed from a hand-drawn Marines’ Camp sign currently displayed in the Paekakariki Station Museum. It was adapted by Greater Wellington Regional Council staff to create the current signage at the Marines Memorial.
Historic information, photos, text and maps have been provided by the Trust, graphic design is by Anne Johnston and printing and production by DAC in Titahi Bay.
The project was been funded by a grant from the Transpower Community Care Fund.